# JMP review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> JMP is a phone number service. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.7/10 for privacy (fair) and 5.8/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "JMP review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/jmp-chat

## Key facts
- **Category:** Phone Numbers & SMS
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 6.7/10, Safety 5.8/10
- **Sign-up:** No account needed
- **Fees:** $4.99 per month
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://jmp.chat

## What it is
JMP provides real US and Canadian phone numbers for calls, SMS and picture messages that are delivered through the Jabber (XMPP) network, so the number works from any device with a compatible chat app. The service costs $4.99 per month and existing numbers can be ported in. Its FAQ states that all of the software that makes up JMP is free and open source, developed as part of the Soprani.ca project. Sign-up needs a Jabber address rather than an email or identity document. The FAQ notes that new accounts can receive messages and calls but may face limits on sending until trust is established.

## What the terms say about ID
Sign-up uses a Jabber address; no identity documents are mentioned in the FAQ.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: yes; No email needed: yes; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** No-logs policy: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: not stated; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does JMP require KYC?
JMP is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. Sign-up uses a Jabber address; no identity documents are mentioned in the FAQ.

### Is JMP safe to use?
JMP has a Safety grade of 5.8 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.7 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is JMP legit?
JMP is a working phone number service. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.8 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is JMP a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for JMP.

### Do I need an account or email to use JMP?
No account needed.

### What fees does JMP charge?
$4.99 per month. Fees were recorded from JMP's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does JMP have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on JMP's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does JMP support?
JMP supports BTC, and fiat payments in USD, CAD.

### Can I use JMP over Tor?
JMP does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://jmp.chat
- https://jmp.chat/faq

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
