# Edge review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Edge is a wallet. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 7.2/10 for privacy (strong) and 6.4/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Edge review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/edge-wallet

## Key facts
- **Category:** Wallets
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 7.2/10, Safety 6.4/10
- **Sign-up:** No account needed
- **Custody:** non-custodial
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://edge.app

## What it is
Edge is a self-custody mobile wallet for managing, buying, storing and exchanging many crypto assets, with Monero among the supported coins. The site says all that is needed to get started is a username and password, and that wallet data is encrypted on the device before it reaches Edge's servers, so that only the user can control the funds. Assets can be swapped inside the app, and buying and selling for fiat currency is offered through partner services; the homepage does not describe those partners' identity requirements. The site links to its source code under the EdgeApp organisation on GitHub. The homepage does not state where the company is based or when it was founded.

## What the terms say about ID
Wallet creation asks only for a username and password; in-app buy, sell and swap partners apply their own terms.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: yes; No email needed: yes; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: yes; Accepts Lightning: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: yes; Open source: yes; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: not stated; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Screens deposits: not in terms; Holds your funds: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Edge require KYC?
Edge is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. Wallet creation asks only for a username and password; in-app buy, sell and swap partners apply their own terms.

### Is Edge safe to use?
Edge has a Safety grade of 6.4 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 7.2 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Edge legit?
Edge is a working wallet. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 6.4 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Edge a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Edge.

### Do I need an account or email to use Edge?
No account needed.

### Does Edge have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Edge's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Edge support?
Edge supports XMR.

### Can I use Edge over Tor?
Edge does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://edge.app/
- https://github.com/EdgeApp

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
