# Coinos review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Coinos is a payment gateway. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.4/10 for privacy (fair) and 4.5/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: no email needed, no phone number and accepts Lightning. To watch: it holds your funds while you use it. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Coinos review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/coinos

## Key facts
- **Category:** Payment Gateways
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 6.4/10, Safety 4.5/10
- **Sign-up:** Email optional
- **Custody:** custodial
- **Fees:** Receiving and internal transfers free; cross-network withdrawals 0.4% (Bitcoin) or 0.1% (Lightning or Liquid)
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://coinos.io

## What it is
Coinos is a free web wallet and payment page aimed at merchants and individuals, with accounts created from a username and password. Funds are held by the service until the user withdraws to an external wallet. The homepage says receiving and internal transfers are free and that withdrawals on a different network than the one received on cost 0.4% for Bitcoin or 0.1% for Lightning or Liquid. The documentation says Coinos is free and open-source software with code on GitHub, but the linked GitHub pages returned a 404 error during this review, so the source was not confirmed. No terms of service page was found.

## What the terms say about ID
Homepage: "A username and password is all you need to get started"; no terms page or identity requirement was found.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: not stated; No email needed: yes; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: yes
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: no; Open source: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: not stated; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Screens deposits: not in terms; Holds your funds: yes; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Coinos require KYC?
Coinos is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. Homepage: "A username and password is all you need to get started"; no terms page or identity requirement was found.

### Is Coinos safe to use?
Coinos has a Safety grade of 4.5 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.4 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Coinos legit?
Coinos is a working payment gateway. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 4.5 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Coinos a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Coinos.

### Do I need an account or email to use Coinos?
Email optional.

### What fees does Coinos charge?
Receiving and internal transfers free; cross-network withdrawals 0.4% (Bitcoin) or 0.1% (Lightning or Liquid). Fees were recorded from Coinos's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does Coinos have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Coinos's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Coinos support?
Coinos supports BTC, L-BTC.

### Is Coinos custodial?
Yes. Coinos holds funds during a trade, which means it is able to delay or freeze them.

### Can I use Coinos over Tor?
Coinos does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://coinos.io
- https://coinos.io/docs

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
