# CoinEx review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> CoinEx is an exchange operating since 2017. Its terms put it at KYC level 3 of 4: ID on risk flag. NoKYC Score grades it 1.3/10 for privacy (poor) and 4.5/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: 5+ years operating. To watch: it may ask for ID, screens deposits and holds your funds while you use it. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "CoinEx review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/coinex

## Key facts
- **Category:** No-KYC Exchanges
- **KYC level:** 3 of 4: ID on risk flag
- **Grades:** Privacy 1.3/10, Safety 4.5/10
- **Sign-up:** Email required
- **Custody:** custodial
- **Fees:** Spot VIP 0: 0.2% / 0.16% (fees page; lower tiers with VIP level)
- **Limits:** Unverified: USD 10,000 per 24h and USD 50,000 per 30 days. Primary ID: USD 1,000,000 per 24h. Advanced ID: USD 5,000,000 per 24h. Privacy-coin deposits/withdrawals, fiat, P2P, mining and airdrops require ID.
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://www.coinex.com

## What it is
CoinEx is a centralised spot, margin and futures exchange operating since 2017; its terms name Algebraiex Global Limited as the contracting entity. Accounts open with an email address or a Google or Apple sign-in. Its help centre says unverified accounts can withdraw up to USD 10,000 per 24 hours and USD 50,000 per 30 days, while ID verification raises the limit and is required for fiat, P2P, mining, airdrops and privacy-coin deposits and withdrawals. Its AML/KYC policy reserves the right to demand identity verification at any time, monitors transactions for exposure to illicit activity on the blockchain, and may suspend accounts pending review. The exchange holds customer funds, and its prohibited-jurisdictions list includes the United States, Canada, the European Economic Area, the United Kingdom and China.

## What the terms say about ID
Unverified: 24h withdrawal limit USD 10,000 and 30-day limit USD 50,000 (help centre). AML/KYC Policy 1.6: the platform "reserves the right to require any customer to complete identity verification (KYC) at any time".

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: no; No account needed: no; No email needed: no; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: no; Own liquidity: not stated; Refund without ID: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: not stated; 5+ years operating: yes
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: yes; Screens deposits: yes; Passes orders to partners: not in terms; Holds your funds: yes; Email required: yes; Phone number required: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does CoinEx require KYC?
CoinEx is rated KYC level 3 of 4 on this site: ID on risk flag. Unverified: 24h withdrawal limit USD 10,000 and 30-day limit USD 50,000 (help centre). AML/KYC Policy 1.6: the platform "reserves the right to require any customer to complete identity verification (KYC) at any time".

### Is CoinEx safe to use?
CoinEx has a Safety grade of 4.5 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 1.3 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is CoinEx legit?
CoinEx is a working exchange that has operated since 2017. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 4.5 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is CoinEx a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for CoinEx. Its terms also allow it to hold a flagged deposit and ask for identity documents.

### Do I need an account or email to use CoinEx?
Email required.

### What fees does CoinEx charge?
Spot VIP 0: 0.2% / 0.16% (fees page; lower tiers with VIP level). Fees were recorded from CoinEx's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### What are CoinEx's limits?
Unverified: USD 10,000 per 24h and USD 50,000 per 30 days. Primary ID: USD 1,000,000 per 24h. Advanced ID: USD 5,000,000 per 24h. Privacy-coin deposits/withdrawals, fiat, P2P, mining and airdrops require ID.

### Does CoinEx have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on CoinEx's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does CoinEx support?
CoinEx supports BTC, ETH, USDT, LTC, BCH.

### Is CoinEx custodial?
Yes. CoinEx holds funds during a trade, which means it is able to delay or freeze them.

### Can I use CoinEx over Tor?
CoinEx does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://www.coinex.com
- https://www.coinex.com/en/service
- https://www.coinex.com/en/fees
- https://support.coinex.com/hc/en-us/articles/360034457433-How-to-Increase-Withdrawal-Limit
- https://support.coinex.com/hc/en-us/articles/900004309243-How-to-Complete-Primary-ID-Verification-Web
- https://support.coinex.com/hc/en-us/articles/27436563672601-AML-KYC-Policy
- https://support.coinex.com/hc/en-us/articles/59334070059417-List-of-Prohibited-Jurisdictions
- https://support.coinex.com/hc/en-us/articles/53572683239705-How-to-Sign-up-on-CoinEx-Web
- https://support.coinex.com/hc/en-us/articles/25419676002457-How-to-Unfreeze-Account

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
