# Cake Pay review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Cake Pay is a gift card store. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.2/10 for privacy (fair) and 3.0/10 for safety (poor). In its favour: accepts Monero. To watch: it requires an email address. One incident is on record, the latest from 12 Oct 2026.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Cake Pay review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/cake-pay

## Key facts
- **Category:** Gift Cards
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 6.2/10, Safety 3.0/10
- **Sign-up:** Email required
- **Incidents on record:** 1
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://cakepay.com

## What it is
Cake Pay is the spending service from the team behind Cake Wallet, selling gift cards and prepaid cards that can be paid for with cryptocurrency, including Monero, either on its website or from inside the wallet app. When checked on 12 October 2026 the Cake Pay website displayed a notice that the service was under maintenance and asked visitors to check back soon, directing questions to Cake Wallet support. No start date, cause or expected end of the maintenance was given, so it is marked as suspended here until the store is confirmed to be selling again.

## What the terms say about ID
No identity verification was required for ordinary gift-card purchases; terms could not be read while the site was in maintenance.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: no; No email needed: no; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: yes; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: not stated; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Screens deposits: not in terms; Holds your funds: not in terms; Email required: yes; Phone number required: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Incidents on record
- 12 Oct 2026: Website displayed an "under maintenance" notice (outcome: unknown). Source: https://cakepay.com

## Questions
### Does Cake Pay require KYC?
Cake Pay is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity verification was required for ordinary gift-card purchases; terms could not be read while the site was in maintenance.

### Is Cake Pay safe to use?
Cake Pay has a Safety grade of 3.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.2 out of 10. There is 1 incident on record, listed with sources on this page. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Cake Pay legit?
Cake Pay is a working gift card store. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 3.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Cake Pay a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. Cake Pay has 1 incident on record, 1 not resolved, the latest: "Website displayed an "under maintenance" notice". Each is listed on this page with its source.

### Do I need an account or email to use Cake Pay?
Email required.

### Does Cake Pay have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Cake Pay's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Cake Pay support?
Cake Pay supports XMR, BTC, LTC, and fiat payments in USD.

### Can I use Cake Pay over Tor?
Cake Pay does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://cakepay.com
- https://cakewallet.com

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
