# Bittr review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Bittr is an on-ramp. Its terms put it at KYC level 3 of 4: ID on risk flag. NoKYC Score grades it 2.5/10 for privacy (poor) and 5.7/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: never holds your funds and company named. To watch: it may ask for ID and requires an email address. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Bittr review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/bittr

## Key facts
- **Category:** On-Ramps
- **KYC level:** 3 of 4: ID on risk flag
- **Grades:** Privacy 2.5/10, Safety 5.7/10
- **Sign-up:** Email required
- **Custody:** non-custodial
- **Fees:** 1.5% plus EUR/CHF 1 on transfers under 100, plus the network fee
- **Limits:** Up to 999 CHF (or euro equivalent) per rolling 30 days without identification
- **Jurisdiction:** Switzerland
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 23 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://getbittr.com

## What it is
Bittr is a Swiss service that converts euro or Swiss franc bank transfers, one-off or recurring, into bitcoin sent directly to the user's own wallet; it does not hold customer bitcoin. Onboarding asks for an email address and a signed message proving control of the wallet, which links the sending IBAN to that wallet. The terms say users generally do not have to provide personal details, which is why payments above 999.99 CHF cannot be accepted, and that splitting a larger amount over several transfers obliges Bittr to identify the customer before processing or returning the funds. The FAQ says the limit is 999 CHF or euro equivalent per rolling 30 days, and that exceeding it pauses the payment until the user either takes a refund or completes 'Whales' verification, which is then needed for any further use. Bittr AG is a VQF member under Swiss anti-money-laundering law and serves EU residents only on reverse solicitation.

## What the terms say about ID
Terms: no personal details generally needed, but payments above 999.99 CHF are not accepted and suspected splitting ('smurfing') means 'we are legally obliged to identify you before processing or returning your Fiat'; the FAQ requires 'Whales' verification after the 30-day limit is exceeded.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: no; No account needed: no; No email needed: no; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: yes; Refund without ID: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: yes; Screens deposits: not in terms; Holds your funds: not in terms; Email required: yes; Phone number required: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Bittr require KYC?
Bittr is rated KYC level 3 of 4 on this site: ID on risk flag. Terms: no personal details generally needed, but payments above 999.99 CHF are not accepted and suspected splitting ('smurfing') means 'we are legally obliged to identify you before processing or returning your Fiat'; the FAQ requires 'Whales' verification after the 30-day limit is exceeded.

### Is Bittr safe to use?
Bittr has a Safety grade of 5.7 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 2.5 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Bittr legit?
Bittr is a working on-ramp. It publishes the company that runs it, in Switzerland. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.7 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Bittr a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Bittr. Its terms also allow it to hold a flagged deposit and ask for identity documents.

### Do I need an account or email to use Bittr?
Email required.

### What fees does Bittr charge?
1.5% plus EUR/CHF 1 on transfers under 100, plus the network fee. Fees were recorded from Bittr's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### What are Bittr's limits?
Up to 999 CHF (or euro equivalent) per rolling 30 days without identification.

### Does Bittr have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Bittr's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Bittr support?
Bittr supports BTC, and fiat payments in EUR, CHF.

### Is Bittr custodial?
No. Bittr is non-custodial: the operator does not control user funds.

### Can I use Bittr over Tor?
Bittr does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://getbittr.com
- https://getbittr.com/terms-and-conditions
- https://getbittr.com/support

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
