# Bitrefill review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Bitrefill is a gift card store operating since 2014. Its terms put it at KYC level 3 of 4: ID on risk flag. NoKYC Score grades it 2.1/10 for privacy (poor) and 5.0/10 for safety (caution). In its favour: no email needed, accepts Lightning and company named. To watch: it may ask for ID and screens deposits. One incident is on record, the latest from 1 Mar 2026.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Bitrefill review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/bitrefill

## Key facts
- **Category:** Gift Cards
- **KYC level:** 3 of 4: ID on risk flag
- **Grades:** Privacy 2.1/10, Safety 5.0/10
- **Sign-up:** Email optional
- **Custody:** mixed
- **Jurisdiction:** Sweden
- **Incidents on record:** 1
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://www.bitrefill.com

## What it is
Bitrefill sells gift cards, mobile top-ups, eSIMs and bill payments for cryptocurrency, including Lightning payments. Its terms, updated on 30 September 2026, name Airfill Prepaid AB, a Swedish company, as the counterparty for gift cards and top-ups. The terms state that suspicious transactions are reported, that a customer may be required at any time to complete a KYC programme, and that exceeding certain thresholds freezes an account until it is verified. In March 2026 the company disclosed a cyberattack in which about 18,500 purchase records were accessed, and said it would cover losses from its own capital.

## What the terms say about ID
Terms state a customer "may be required at any time to complete a KYC program" and that exceeding thresholds freezes the account until verified.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: no; No account needed: not stated; No email needed: yes; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: yes; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: yes
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: yes; Screens deposits: yes; Holds your funds: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Incidents on record
- 1 Mar 2026: Disclosed cyberattack; about 18,500 purchase records accessed and hot wallets drained (outcome: resolved paid). Source: https://www.theblock.co/post/393974/crypto-ecommerce-bitrefill-cyberattack

## Questions
### Does Bitrefill require KYC?
Bitrefill is rated KYC level 3 of 4 on this site: ID on risk flag. Terms state a customer "may be required at any time to complete a KYC program" and that exceeding thresholds freezes the account until verified.

### Is Bitrefill safe to use?
Bitrefill has a Safety grade of 5.0 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 2.1 out of 10. There is 1 incident on record, listed with sources on this page. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Bitrefill legit?
Bitrefill is a working gift card store that has operated since 2014. It publishes the company that runs it, in Sweden. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.0 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Bitrefill a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. Bitrefill has 1 incident on record, all resolved, the latest: "Disclosed cyberattack; about 18,500 purchase records accessed and hot wallets drained". Each is listed on this page with its source. Its terms also allow it to hold a flagged deposit and ask for identity documents.

### Do I need an account or email to use Bitrefill?
Email optional.

### Does Bitrefill have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Bitrefill's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Bitrefill support?
Bitrefill supports BTC, ETH, USDT, USDC, LTC, and fiat payments in EUR, USD.

### Can I use Bitrefill over Tor?
Bitrefill does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://www.bitrefill.com/terms
- https://www.bitrefill.com
- https://www.theblock.co/post/393974/crypto-ecommerce-bitrefill-cyberattack

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
