# Bitkey review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Bitkey is a wallet. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.8/10 for privacy (fair) and 7.5/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: no phone number, never holds your funds and open source. To watch: it requires an email address. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Bitkey review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/bitkey

## Key facts
- **Category:** Wallets
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 6.8/10, Safety 7.5/10
- **Sign-up:** Email required
- **Custody:** non-custodial
- **Fees:** Hardware device $250 per the site
- **Jurisdiction:** United States / Netherlands
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 23 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://bitkey.world

## What it is
Bitkey is a Bitcoin-only self-custody wallet made up of a phone app and a hardware device, sold for $250 on the site. It uses 2-of-3 multisig with no seed phrase: the user holds two keys and a third is used for recovery, and the site says the company's server helps with security and recovery but cannot move funds alone. The terms (effective 17 June 2025) say Block does not store or have access to the user's self-custodied bitcoin or keys, and that a mobile phone number or email address must be provided to use the services. Contracts are with Block, Inc. for US shipping addresses and Block Global B.V. elsewhere, and use is limited to listed available countries. The source code is published on GitHub.

## What the terms say about ID
Terms require a phone number or email address but contain no identity verification requirement; hardware purchases collect billing details.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: no; No email needed: no; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Never holds your funds: yes; Open source: yes; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Screens deposits: not in terms; Holds your funds: not in terms; Email required: yes; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Bitkey require KYC?
Bitkey is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. Terms require a phone number or email address but contain no identity verification requirement; hardware purchases collect billing details.

### Is Bitkey safe to use?
Bitkey has a Safety grade of 7.5 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.8 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Bitkey legit?
Bitkey is a working wallet. It publishes the company that runs it, in United States / Netherlands. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 7.5 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Bitkey a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Bitkey.

### Do I need an account or email to use Bitkey?
Email required.

### What fees does Bitkey charge?
Hardware device $250 per the site. Fees were recorded from Bitkey's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### Does Bitkey have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Bitkey's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Bitkey support?
Bitkey supports BTC.

### Can I use Bitkey over Tor?
Bitkey does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://bitkey.world
- https://bitkey.world/en-US/legal/terms-of-service
- https://github.com/proto-at-block/bitkey

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
