# Atomic Mail review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Atomic Mail is an email provider. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.6/10 for privacy (fair) and 5.5/10 for safety (fair). In its favour: no account needed, no email needed and no phone number. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Atomic Mail review", reviewed 23 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/atomic-mail

## Key facts
- **Category:** Email
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 6.6/10, Safety 5.5/10
- **Sign-up:** No account needed
- **Fees:** Core service free; optional paid plans via Stripe or app stores
- **Limits:** Website and mail logs, including IP addresses, kept for up to 7 days
- **Jurisdiction:** Estonia
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 23 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://atomicmail.io

## What it is
Atomic Mail is an encrypted email service run by AtomicMail Systems OÜ in Tallinn, Estonia, under Estonian law. Registration needs only the new address, a password and an optional name, with a seed phrase issued as the only way to recover a lost password; the terms say the name need not be a real one and the site says no phone number is needed. The core service is free, and paid plans are charged through Stripe or the Apple and Google app stores; no cryptocurrency option is mentioned. The privacy policy says website logs with IP addresses are kept for up to 7 days and mail logs for 7 days, and that only requests from Estonian judicial authorities are complied with after legal review.

## What the terms say about ID
No identity verification clause in the terms; pseudonyms are allowed and no phone or recovery email is required.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: yes; No email needed: yes; No phone number: yes
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Open source: not stated; No-logs policy: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: not stated
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Atomic Mail require KYC?
Atomic Mail is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity verification clause in the terms; pseudonyms are allowed and no phone or recovery email is required.

### Is Atomic Mail safe to use?
Atomic Mail has a Safety grade of 5.5 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.6 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Atomic Mail legit?
Atomic Mail is a working email provider. It publishes the company that runs it, in Estonia. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 5.5 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Atomic Mail a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Atomic Mail.

### Do I need an account or email to use Atomic Mail?
No account needed.

### What fees does Atomic Mail charge?
Core service free; optional paid plans via Stripe or app stores. Fees were recorded from Atomic Mail's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### What are Atomic Mail's limits?
Website and mail logs, including IP addresses, kept for up to 7 days.

### Does Atomic Mail have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Atomic Mail's own pages.

### Can I use Atomic Mail over Tor?
Atomic Mail does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://atomicmail.io/terms-of-service
- https://atomicmail.io/privacy-policy

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
