# Amnezia VPN review: KYC policy, privacy and safety grades

> Amnezia VPN is a VPN operating since 2020. Its terms put it at KYC level 1 of 4: no ID mentioned. NoKYC Score grades it 6.9/10 for privacy (fair) and 7.2/10 for safety (strong). In its favour: no email needed, open source and company named. No incidents are on record.

Source: NoKYC Score, "Amnezia VPN review", reviewed 22 Oct 2026, https://nokycscore.com/service/amnezia-vpn

## Key facts
- **Category:** VPNs
- **KYC level:** 1 of 4: No ID mentioned
- **Grades:** Privacy 6.9/10, Safety 7.2/10
- **Sign-up:** Email optional
- **Fees:** Premium from $3.3/month on a 2-year plan when checked; self-hosted client and Amnezia Free cost nothing
- **Limits:** Amnezia Free is limited to 8 Mbps and selected sites; Premium allows up to 7 devices
- **Jurisdiction:** Cyprus
- **Incidents on record:** 0
- **Last reviewed:** 22 Oct 2026
- **Official website:** https://amnezia.org

## What it is
Amnezia publishes an open-source client that installs a VPN on a server the user controls, and also sells a hosted plan (Amnezia Premium) and runs a limited free plan. The site names EUPHORIATECH LIMITED, registered in Nicosia, Cyprus, as the company behind it. Its privacy policy says the self-hosted mode sends no data to the company, that Premium purchases require an email address, and that browsing activity is not recorded, although connection IP addresses are processed and may be retained for some locations. Premium is paid by card or cryptocurrency; the site says security audits were carried out by 7ASecurity in 2022, 2024 and 2025, but the reports were not read during this review.

## What the terms say about ID
No identity check appears in the privacy policy or payment terms; buying Premium requires only an email address and the self-hosted client needs no account.

## Features and warnings
- **Identity:** ID never required: not stated; No account needed: not stated; No email needed: yes; No phone number: not stated
- **Payment:** Accepts Monero: not stated; Accepts Lightning: not stated; Accepts cash: not stated
- **Access:** Tor onion address: not stated; Works without JavaScript: not stated
- **Trust:** Open source: yes; No-logs policy: not stated; Independent audit: not stated; Company named: yes; 5+ years operating: yes
- **Warnings:** May ask for ID: not in terms; Email required: not in terms; Phone number required: not in terms; Closed source: not in terms; Nobody accountable: not in terms

## Questions
### Does Amnezia VPN require KYC?
Amnezia VPN is rated KYC level 1 of 4 on this site: no ID mentioned. No identity check appears in the privacy policy or payment terms; buying Premium requires only an email address and the self-hosted client needs no account.

### Is Amnezia VPN safe to use?
Amnezia VPN has a Safety grade of 7.2 out of 10 and a Privacy grade of 6.9 out of 10. No incidents are on record. Evidence level: documentation reviewed.

### Is Amnezia VPN legit?
Amnezia VPN is a working VPN that has operated since 2020. It publishes the company that runs it, in Cyprus. Being real is not the same as being safe: its Safety grade here is 7.2 out of 10, built from custody, liquidity, track record and incidents.

### Is Amnezia VPN a scam?
NoKYC Score does not label services as scams; it records documented incidents with their sources and outcomes. No incidents are on record for Amnezia VPN.

### Do I need an account or email to use Amnezia VPN?
Email optional.

### What fees does Amnezia VPN charge?
Premium from $3.3/month on a 2-year plan when checked; self-hosted client and Amnezia Free cost nothing. Fees were recorded from Amnezia VPN's own pages and can change; check before you send.

### What are Amnezia VPN's limits?
Amnezia Free is limited to 8 Mbps and selected sites; Premium allows up to 7 devices.

### Does Amnezia VPN have a Tor onion address?
No official onion address was found on Amnezia VPN's own pages.

### Which cryptocurrencies does Amnezia VPN support?
Amnezia VPN supports BTC, ETH, USDT, DOGE, and fiat payments in USD.

### Can I use Amnezia VPN over Tor?
Amnezia VPN does not publish an official onion address.

## Sources
- https://amnezia.org
- https://amnezia.org/policy
- https://amnezia.org/en/premium
- https://amnezia.org/en/about
- https://pay.amnezia.org/payment-and-terms-of-use

How grades are calculated: https://nokycscore.com/methodology
